A Tale of Two Cities

A Tale of Two Cities

Hi guys. So I recently had to read A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens for school. I really thought that I would hate it, since I usually hate everything that is over a hundred years old. At first, I did hate it. About halfway through the first chapter I was lost. I was like “I know this guy is speaking English, but I don’t understand one word.” After my teacher explained the first few chapters, I finally got into old-English reading mode and I began to love the story. I never thought I’d say this, but it’s an awesome book! Here’s the general summary for those of you who haven’t read it:

Oh gosh…this is going to be hard…it’s a very complex story line but I’ll give it my best shot.

Ok, so this story takes place in England and France during the French Revolution. One of the main characters Lucie Manette learns from a messenger named Lorry that the father she thought was dead is actually alive. They have a happy reunion. A few years later, the Manettes go to court to defend a man named Charles Darnay. There they also meet Sydney Carton the defense attorney. A love triangle quickly develops between Lucie Manette, Charles Darnay, and Sydney Carton. Hmmm… so team Darnay or team Carton?

Team Carton

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m all for team Carton 🙂

Meanwhile, in France, peasants are getting sick and tired of aristocrats treating them like crap so they begin planning and plotting against them, which eventually turns into the French Revolution. What many people don’t know is that Charles Darnay is the family of one of the most hated aristocrats in France. So how are all these things connected? What happens? Well, read it and find out!
Sorry for the confusing summary, but A Tale of Two Cities is a hard book to summarize without giving away spoilers. Anyway, I promise it’s an awesome book so if you haven’t read it then read it!

Leave a Reply

